San Diego Playwrights

Getting San Diego Playwrights Produced on San Diego Stages

KIDNAPPING LOLA–An Interview with Breaking Waves Playwright Michael Vegas Mussman

on July 16, 2015
Michael Vegas Mussman

Michael Vegas Mussman

Tell us about yourself.

I’m a theatre dork, an old-fashioned romantic, a wannabe novelist. My adorable husband is from Chile, and we live in Mission Hills with a belligerent Maltese named Sweetie.

Tell us about your play.

About a year ago I woke up from a weird dream, grabbed a yellow pad, and wrote: “Monologue from POV of woman locked in the trunk of a car.” Then I promptly forgot all about it. Months later, I signed up to write a play for Breaking Waves. At the auditions, I met the actors, and that car-trunk idea came right back into my head. Now the woman in the trunk has a name, Lola, and a story.

What was it like to work with actors to workshop your play?

It was thrilling, stressful, amazing, insane, wonderful. These actors are ridiculously creative. All I did was give them a simple premise – two guys driving an old car, woman in the trunk – and they ran with it. They practically wrote their characters’ stories from scratch. They threw so many ideas at me. I only wish I could have used more of them.

What is your next step?

I wrote a one-act a about a closeted gay man who learns the true meaning of Pride. It’s basically “A Christmas Carol” but with disco balls and rainbow flags. I call it “A Pride Pastiche.”

Last night I had this weird dream that featured drug cartels, spies, and aliens from another dimension. My goal is to work all of that into a play and take it to Broadway.

 “Kidnapping Lola” by Michael Vegas Mussman will be produced by Actors Alliance and San Diego Playwrights as part of the Breaking Waves Festival in the 2015 San Diego International Fringe Festival. “Kidnapping Lola” tells the story of Diego and Lil Bing, two partners in crime who kidnap people for money. One of them is thinking about a career change. Performances are July 24 @ 9:00 p.m., July 25 @ 2:30 p.m., July 29 @ 6:00 p.m., July 31 @ 7:30 p.m. and August 2 @ 11:30 a.m.   https://sdfringe.ticketleap.com/breaking-waves/dates

Leave a Reply

