San Diego Playwrights

Getting San Diego Playwrights Produced on San Diego Stages

LOVE ALL YOU HAVE LEFT–An Interview with Matt Sivertson

on February 12, 2015

LoveAllYouHaveLeftFlyer

Tell us about yourself.

My name is Matt Sivertson, and Love All You Have Left is my first play. I’m not a writer by trade but I love theater and the arts. My wife Caroline Amiguet is an actress, and with encouragement from her and her acting and theater friends from the Poolhouse Project I decided to try my hand at writing to see if I could develop an idea I had kicking around in my head.

Matt Sivertson

Matt Sivertson

Tell us about your play.

Love All You Have Left is the story of a woman who is distraught after the death of her young daughter. One day when she goes to investigate some noise in her attic she finds a teenage girl living there who says her name is Anne Frank. It’s hard to say much more about it without revealing too much about the play, but it’s intended to be a fairly philosophical piece. The woman was a philosophy professor before her daughter died and that background conflicting with her viewpoints after dealing with her tragedy provides a lot of the drive for ensuing events.

What are your challenges? What are your successes?

The biggest challenge is that I’ve never written anything before, and didn’t really know how. The idea for the story came from a somewhat vague idea and feeling that I wanted to capture. The original inspiration was from an album called In The Aeroplane Over The Sea by the band Neutral Milk Hotel and there is something ethereal about that album that I wanted to capture, but creating a coherent story that conveyed what I was going for without being too expository was more difficult than I had expected. I had to leave it and come back to it many times over a few years before it made a lot of sense.

As for successes, I was thrilled when the Poolhouse Project chose Love All You Have Left for a staged reading, so I’m already counting my blessings. I never would have imagined that I would write a play and get to see it performed. The lead character was written for my wife, Caroline Amiguet, so getting to work creatively with her is a definite highlight.

What is your next step?

I would really love to see a full theatrical production of course. Beyond that I’m working on the screenplay to be able to produce a feature-length film of Love All You Have Left. Both the theater and film communities in San Diego are extremely supportive and helpful, so I feel lucky to have the chance to try to tell a story.

Thanks for talking with us, Matt! Good luck with Love All You Have Left and the Poolhouse Project!

Poolhouse Project begins its Splash Works! New Plays Reading Series on Sunday, Feb. 15, 2015 at 7:00 pm with Love All You Have Left. The series includes four readings that showcase San Diego playwrights, actors and directors. The readings take place at San Diego Writers, Ink – The Ink Spot in Liberty Station, 2730 Historic Decatur Rd, suite 202. There is a $5 suggested donation at the door. For more information about the event, visit http://www.sandiegowriters.org/0215-poolhouse-project-staged-reading/ For questions, please contact Lydia Lea Real SDPoolhouseProject@gmail.com. Visit the Poolhouse Project website here.
One response to “LOVE ALL YOU HAVE LEFT–An Interview with Matt Sivertson

  1. […] you’d like to know more about it, here is an interview that Matt just gave to San Diego […]

Leave a Reply

