San Diego Playwrights

Getting San Diego Playwrights Produced on San Diego Stages

California Young Playwrights Contest Winner–Tricia Mendoza

on December 2, 2014

PP_30th_year_4c_cropped

Playwrights Project will produce its 30th annual festival of Plays by Young Writers at The Sheryl and Harvey White Theatre in the Conrad Prebys Theatre Center at The Old Globe on January 22 – February 1, 2015. The festival will feature winning scripts from its California Young Playwrights Contest for ages 18 and under.

Contest winners were selected from 581 plays submitted by students from across the state. Four scripts will receive full professional productions, and four scripts will receive staged readings in this highly regarded festival of new voices.

Tricia Mendoza

Tricia Mendoza

One Magical Day

By Tricia Mendoza

Age 14, Rancho Peñasquitos

Directed by Erika Phillips

One Magical Day by Tricia Mendoza, age 14, was written when Tricia took part in a playwriting program led by Wendy Waddell at Black Mountain Middle School. The play tells the story of a surprisingly young fairy godmother who has a hard time finding a deserving human to help. Plays by Young Writers alumna Rachael VanWormer is serving as Tricia’s writing mentor/dramaturg.

How did you first get involved with writing?

I have been involved with writing ever since I learned how to write. I’ve always loved making new worlds and creating my own characters.

How did you come up with the idea of your script?

The idea for my script came from my love of Disney animated films and it influenced a lot of my story. I love the heart and the message that each movie has.

What themes are involved in your piece?

The theme that is involved with my piece is the importance of dreams and the determination not to give up on them.

What is the message you hope the audience takes away with them?

The message that I hope the audience takes away is that dreams are important no matter how big or small and the only way that you can make them come true is if you believe.

Do you plan to continue writing?

I don’t know if I plan to continue writing because my ideas for writing come from a huge wave of creativity and it depends on when I get another one.

What do you want to be when you grow up?

I’m not certain yet because in a few years I could change my mind, but today I’ll say that I want to work for Disney and be able to tell my own stories.

For more information and reservations, please contact Playwrights Project at (858) 384-2970 or write@playwrightsproject.org. Visit http://www.playwrightsproject.org.

One response to “California Young Playwrights Contest Winner–Tricia Mendoza

  1. […] One Magical Day by Tricia Mendoza, age 14, who took part in a playwriting program at Black Mountain Middle School led by Wendy Waddell. A surprisingly young fairy godmother has a hard time finding a deserving human to help. https://sandiegoplaywrights.wordpress.com/2014/12/02/california-young-playwrights-contest-winner-tri… […]

Leave a Reply

