San Diego Playwrights

Getting San Diego Playwrights Produced on San Diego Stages

California Young Playwrights Contest Winner–Donya Sharifi

on November 17, 2014

PP_30th_year_4c_cropped

Playwrights Project will produce its 30th annual festival of Plays by Young Writers at The Sheryl and Harvey White Theatre in the Conrad Prebys Theatre Center at The Old Globe on January 22 – February 1, 2015. The festival will feature winning scripts from its California Young Playwrights Contest for ages 18 and under.

Contest winners were selected from 581 plays submitted by students from across the state. Four scripts will receive full professional productions, and four scripts will receive staged readings in this highly regarded festival of new voices.

Donya Sharifi

Donya Sharifi

Best Friend Mistakes

By Donya Sharifi

Age 12, Rancho Peñasquitos

Directed by Erika Phillips 

Best Friend Mistakes by Donya Sharifi, age 12, is a fresh take on best friend betrayal when Harry misses his best friend’s birthday party. Donya took part in a playwriting residency at Mesa Verde Middle School led by Founder Deborah Salzer.

How did you first get involved with writing?

I have been writing ever since I was little. I would always make my own books and stories whenever I could.

How did you come up with the idea of your script?

I honestly had to do the script, it was a class grade. I always loved writing about fights, so that’s why I did it.

What themes are involved in your piece?

The theme of my story is just two best friends who got into a fight.

What is the message you hope the audience takes away with them?

I hope when the audience leaves, they get that friends fight. Every friendship has bumpy times.

Do you plan to continue writing?

Writing is a passion to me; I write whenever I can, and I have packs of notebooks with stories.

What do you want to be when you grow up?

When I grow up, I want to be a lawyer. Everyone says that if I have good writing, I can be a perfect lawyer. Or something to do with sports.

For more information and reservations, please contact Playwrights Project at (858) 384-2970 or write@playwrightsproject.org. Visit http://www.playwrightsproject.org.

One response to “California Young Playwrights Contest Winner–Donya Sharifi

  1. […] Best Friend Mistakes by Donya Sharifi, age 12, is a fresh take on best friend betrayal when Harry misses his best friend’s birthday party. Donya took part in a playwriting residency at Mesa Verde Middle School led by Founder Deborah Salzer. https://sandiegoplaywrights.wordpress.com/2014/11/17/california-young-playwrights-contest-winner-don… […]

Leave a Reply

