San Diego Playwrights

Getting San Diego Playwrights Produced on San Diego Stages

California Young Playwrights Contest Winner–Erica Myrmel

on February 24, 2014

Erica Myrmel

Erica Myrmel (Playwright, Thirty-Nine to Forty, written at age 15) is a 10th grader at Point Loma High School. Aside from her academics, she writes slam poetry and swims on her school’s varsity team. Erica has a life-long passion for writing, one she wishes to continue throughout her life. This is her first play ever produced and she is enjoying every second of the experience. She would like to thank everyone who has supported and inspired her. She especially thanks Playwrights Project for giving her this amazing opportunity.

How did you first get involved with writing?

I have loved writing all my life. I learned to read at a very young age and once I learned to write I started writing short stories in a notebook my parents gave me. This is the first play I have ever written.

How did you come up with the idea of your script?

I did a few activities which were meant to inspire ideas for plays. In those activities I randomly came up with the plot to Thirty-Nine to Forty.

What themes are involved in your piece?

The biggest theme in my story is that happiness is the reassurance of family. My main character, John Mane, was really unhappy in his life so he started doing something that had made him happy in his youth, which was skateboarding. By the end of the play, he realizes that the people he loves are the most important things to him and that they are the ones who make him truly happy.

What is the message you hope the audience takes away with them?

I hope that my audience leaves knowing that it is never too late to make changes in their lives and that it is never too late to be happy.

Do you plan to continue writing?

I definitely want to continue writing. This has been an amazing experience and it has inspired me to keep doing what I love.

What do you want to be when you grow up?

I thought for a long time that I wanted to major in psychology and become a special agent in the FBI. Now, although I am still interested in that profession, I have realized that there are so many different options out there. I know I will change my mind many times before I find the job I love and want to do for the rest of my life.

For more information, or to purchase tickets for the Plays by Young Writers festival, visit http://www.playwrightsproject.org/PBYW or call (858) 384-2970. To find out more about the California Young Playwrights Contest, visit http://www.playwrightsproject.org/contest.htm.

Leave a Reply

